top of page

Why I taught my child to be rude


In our house we have a rule that no one but Mommy is allowed to comb your hair. Anyone with curly hair would be able to relate.

It started off simply because few people knew how - they either created more tangles or left her hair broken. Not to mention, without the right technique it can be quite painful.

Now I am what some may call a #badmom. So that means Jess often goes on play dates with her hair looking unkept. I personally think she rocks but for some strange reason the more responsible folk always feel the need to make her look tidy which means wanting to comb her hair.

Recently I picked her up from a playdate and to my surprise her hair was combed impeccably. So why did the site of it make me furious?

Simple....

As Jess entered the car she quickly felt the need to explain how she told the caretaker about the hair rule but they over turned it saying that they were sure I would not mind. Jess being the over obedient kid that she is, dipped her head and allowed them to comb her hair.

So from now on, I am teaching her to be rude.

How dare someone overturn my rule without asking?

What if someone said to her "it's okay, I am sure your mom will be okay with me touching your private parts."

If I allow her to be okay with simple rule breaking, how will she know when it's not okay?

And the same goes for parents that offer kids candy knowing full well that the parents are health fanatics.

Adults can really be silly and thoughtless sometimes. We wonder why our children would sit through being molested, never shout, slap or ran from the perpetrator they know, when we raise children to be blindly obedient to adults who cannot even respect the rules of their peers.

I am no psychologist so hey, don't take my advice, but the next time you have a kid over, be sure to respect what they say and if in doubt pick up the phone and get clarification from the parents before overturning a rule.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page